Governance Committee

The Governance Committee's purpose is to provide oversight of key strategic activities, identify key risk areas, ensure the effective governance of the agency, prepare recommendations to the full Board of Directors. It is able to act on behalf of the full Board on emerging, time-sensitive, and significant issues arising between board meetings.

The committee consists of:

  • Chair (who does not chair this committee)
  • Vice-Chair (who does not chair this committee)
  • At least two other board members
  • Chief Executive Officer (ex-officio, non-voting)

Finance, Auditing, and Investments Committee

The Finance, Auditing, and Investments Committee advises and makes recommendations with respect to significant planning, performance, and reporting matters relating to the management of the agency's financial activity and well-being.

The committee consists of:

  • At least three board members
  • Chair (ex-officio)
  • Chief Executive Officer (ex-officio, non-voting)

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is responsible for providing a list of nominees from the arts community who meet the required range of expertise and knowledge, as required by the Act, to the Minister responsible for the Saskatchewan Arts Board.

The committee is chaired by the Chair of the Governance Committee and consists of:

  • One board member, appointed by the Board of Directors
  • Two persons from the arts community, appointed by the arts community (typically through recommendation from the Saskatchewan Arts Alliance)
  • One person (not a member of the Board of Directors) appointed by the Minister

Performance Review Committee

The Performance Review Committee helps to ensure the effective performance of the agency through an annual objective-setting and performance review of the Chief Executive Officer. The committee is also responsible for leading the process of hiring a Chief Executive Officer, as required.

The committee consists of:

  • Chair
  • Vice Chair
  • At least two other board members
  • Representative appointed by the Minister
  • Chief Executive Officer (ex-officio, non-voting)

Curatorial Working Group

The Curatorial Working Group is a joint board/staff committee. Its purpose is to help ensure the effective operation of the agency's Permanent Collection and consider all acquisitions to the Collection.

The committee consists of:

  • Two board members
  • Three staff members responsible for maintaining the Permanent Collection and the program consultant responsible for the Independent Artists – Visual Arts program.
  • Up to two community members (in cases where the acquisition of the new work for the Permanent Collection is being considered)
  • Chief Executive Officer (ex-officio, non-voting)