Lifetime Achievement

Sponsored by North Ridge Development Corporation

2008 Lifetime Achievement Recipient - Joan Borsa

Joan Borsa

Over the past three decades, Joan Borsa has curated ground-breaking exhibitions, written extensively on Saskatchewan artists and art, and has made an outstanding contribution to the promotion and professional development of art and art-making in the province.

A true pioneer, Joan's work has helped to define the role of the independent curator. She has played an important role in provincial and national art activity and has forged a unique artistic path in combining the multiple roles of curator, art critic, art educator, art administrator, art consultant, board member, gallery director, colleague, role model and mentor.

Joan has contributed in countless ways to the lives and careers of visual artists, arts-related professionals and students, helping to cultivate an environment where the arts and the next generation of artists, curators and arts administrators, may thrive. She is a leader whose vision, initiatives and innovation will continue to have a lasting impact on the visual arts in Saskatchewan and beyond.

30 Below

Sponsored by RSVP Event Design

2008 30 Below Recipient - Alice Kuipers

Alice Kuipers

Alice arrived in Saskatoon from the United Kingdom in 2003 and immediately started writing, mentoring and volunteering, bringing new ideas and enthusiasm to the Saskatoon literary scene. She is a writer of exceptional talent, amply demonstrated by her international publishing success.

Arts and Learning

Sponsored by His Honour the Honourable Dr. Gordon L. Barnhardt, Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan

2008 Arts and Learning Recipient - Tyrone W. Tootoosis

Tyrone W. Tootoosis

From dancing for the Queen to serving as a host, narrator and producer of radio and television documentaries, Tyrone is a determined and passionate advocate for, and educator of, Indigenous ways. As a film actor and artist in creative visual arts and writing, as well as an educator, he shows us the potential we have to build better futures for ourselves, our families and our communities.

Innovation in the Arts

Sponsored by Saskatchewan Arts Board

2008 Innovation in the Arts Recipient - Charley Farrero

Charley Farrero

One of Saskatchewan's leading ceramic artists for more than three decades, Charley has produced innovative work that has helped transform the conception of artistic creativity using the clay medium. He has helped train and inspire new generations of artists and has helped found and nurture craft arts groups such as the Saskatchewan Craft Council and SaskTerra.


Sponsored by the Ministry of Tourism, Parks, Culture and Sport

2008 Leadership Recipient - Sandra Butel

Sandra Butel

Ten years ago, Sandra had an artistic vision for the Regina Folk Festival (RFF) and through her exceptional leadership skills, management practices, promotion of and dedication to the advancement of the arts, that vision has become reality. Under Sandra's guidance, the RFF has expanded its programming, audience development, and outreach activities.


Sponsored by SaskCulture and Saskatchewan Lotteries

2008 Volunteer Recipient - Gursh Madhur

Gursh Madhur

Gursh's devotion to the arts community is readily apparent in her attitude, which places service above self-interest. She has made a measurable difference in the maturing of Saskatchewan's arts and cultural communities and is committed to collaboration and creative team work. In addition, her dedication, good humour, and perseverance have contributed significantly to the strong community spirit in Saskatchewan.


The Saskatchewan Arts Board would like to thank the sponsors of the 2008 Lieutenant Governor's Arts Awards:

Patron Sponsor

  • North Ridge Development Corporation

Award Sponsors

  • Ministry of Tourism, Parks, Culture and Sport
  • RSVP Event Design
  • Saskatchewan Arts Board
  • SaskCulture
  • Saskatchewan Lotteries

Gala Dinner Sponsor

  • Kramer Ltd.

Media Sponsors

  • Global Regina
  • Leader-Post
  • The StarPhoenix

Additional Sponsors and Donors

  • Hidden Attic Communicaitons
  • The Noblet Design Group
  • Dr. Jacqui Shumiatcher