Legislative Building Artists in Residence

On May 28, 2012 Minister Kevin Doherty joined Artist Residency Coordinator Laura Hale to announce the seven other artists that will participate in the artist-in-residence program. The program is part of the province's year-long celebration of the 100th anniversary of the Saskatchewan Legislative Building and has been developed in partnership with the Saskatchewan Arts Board.

Under the guidance of Hale, who will also serve as the eighth resident artist, the participants will explore the history and significance of the Saskatchewan Legislative Building through their own artistic disciplines.

Each artist will host a community engaged project to encourage cultural exchange at the Legislative Building and will also create a work of art that will be displayed in one of the alcoves in the Rotunda of the Legislative Building. The artwork will be unveiled in December 2012.

Photo: Program Co-ordinator Laura Hale and Provincial Capital Commission Minister Kevin Doherty with the artists chosen for the artist-in-residence program at the Legislative Building. Left to right: Laura Hale, Terri Fidelak, Allan Dotson, Minister Kevin Doherty, Miranda Jones, Heather Cline, Anita Smith, and Sandra Ledingham. Missing: Robert Assie

The artists are:

  • Robert Assie, Saskatoon
  • Heather Cline, Regina
  • Allan Dotson, Regina
  • Terri Fidelak, Regina
  • Miranda Jones, Saskatoon
  • Sandra Ledingham, Saskatoon
  • Anita Smith, Saskatoon

For bios of the artists-in-residence and information on the projects they will undertake during their residencies, visit the Provincial Captial Commission website.

A request for proposals resulted in a number of excellent submissions. The artists were selected by the project steering committee made up of members of the Provincial Capital Commission; Parks, Culture and Sport; Central Services and the Saskatchewan Arts Board in co-ordination with the artist co-ordinator.

This artist-in-residence initiative is funded through the Creative Partnerships program, which is delivered by the Saskatchewan Arts Board in collaboration with SaskCulture Inc., through funding from the Saskatchewan Lotteries Trust Fund for Sport, Culture and Recreation.

For more information about the artist-in-residence program, and the Saskatchewan Legislative Building's 100th anniversary, please call (306) 787-9261 or visit www.opcc.gov.sk.ca.

Legislative Building Artists in Residence

Photo: Program Co-ordinator Laura Hale at the Legislative Building.